Amplified Communication: A New Movement on the Ohio University Campus

While being alone in different environments for all of 2013, I’ve gained a great sense of confidence and growth within myself. I’ve always known I wanted to some day own my own PR firm or agency, collaborating with clients who needed my expertise. I’ve always been aware of my appreciation for the arts, expression and our rising media culture.

As time progressed, I noticed more and more of my friends and peers expressing themselves through their creative art outlet. Whether it’s music, fashion or creating a fresh, new product with a brand, the people I’m surrounded by are some of the most creative and innovative youth! With my passion for public relations, media, connecting and helping others, I decided it was time to create something to begin practicing for what I want to do in the near future.

Throughout the summer, Malindi Robinson worked on a NYC young entrepreneur networking party, hosted by Collegiate Crown. I met the founder of Collegiate Crown through a previous internship and also volunteered my time to help planning the event. Malindi was assigned the task of sponsorship outreach and found herself securing over half of the event sponsors, all from Ohio. It was in that moment we realized all of the curators in our surroundings who don’t get enough recognition.

At a very special point near the end of my summer, I was connected with a young NYC entertainer by the name of Nigel Scott Morris. A lover of music being a part of my description in the referral, Nigel invited me to judge and attend auditions for his main music event, The Dean’s List Tour.

The Dean’s List Tour is a concert catered to underground artists, performers and entrepreneurs who are looking to gain exposure in the collegiate consumer market. During the concert, aside from performing their set, performers will have the opportunity to network and mingle with other artists, designers and other young entrepreneurs from Ohio and the East coast – specifically NYC! The concert is sponsored by popular mainstream brands Reebok and Def Jam Records and will be attended by talent scouting reps from C&C Entertainment and other music industry professionals from NYC checking out our underground talent!

I rode the train to midtown Manhattan, on the west side, and got to witness some awesome audition acts! So much talent; singers, rappers and dancers all came out to earn a spot on this tour. After learning about my background, Nigel offered me the position of the Ohio Representative and wanted me to host a stop of The Dean’s List Tour at Ohio University.  Tremendously honored and excited, I accepted the offer almost blindly.

By the end of the summer, Malindi and I both agreed we wanted to create a student organization catered to our specific passions and interests within the public relations field. We decided our organization would be for the students, by the students, and that The Dean’s List Tour would be our first big event.

From August until October, I ran around campus like a chicken with my head cut off trying to figure out the foundation I needed to lay to make this organization and concert happen. With the collaboration of a few of my awesome colleagues, I finally got AMplified Communication registered as a student organization. Also, with the support of Ohio University Association of Black Journalists, I booked Baker Theater to be the venue of Ohio University’s first student-run concert, The Dean’s List Tour.

I am so blessed to have the courage to embark on a personal journey that can only bring growth to so many people besides myself. With three weeks into this organization, there has been a vast amount of support and interest. I’m excited to be able to assist my colleagues in helping them AMplify their platform for their passions as well as connecting them amongst each other to rise to success. I hope to have started an organization that will last at Ohio University even after I’ve graduated. I believe we need more supporting platforms like AMplified Communication because my generation is at the forefront of our culture. Networking and building are the keys to success in society and AMplified is the door where both fit at Ohio University.

About AMplified Communication

AMplified Communication is a full service public relations, media and event planning organization. Our mission is to connect and expose student brands at Ohio University and throughout Ohio in the industries of art, entertainment, entrepreneurism and lifestyle. We want our clients to gain full potential of their brand’s exposure and positive recall right now and in the future. Uniquely, AMplified will integrate media platforms in campaign and branding strategies. All clients will be college-aged students, looking to create and build their personal brand. Helping these students effectively reach their goals will be their colleagues who are looking for experience in brand development. Our organization is based on a value of “students helping students.”

We provide a multitude of public relations and branding services for independent, young entrepreneurs and their brands.

Our services will include:

  • Public relations research

  • Development of public relations campaign for client brands

  • Brand building and consulting

  • Social media management and marketing

  • Event planning

We combine all these services with our passion for entertainment, media and lifestyle and our dedication to assisting clients in reaching their ultimate goal. We believe in working in conjunction with our client’s team. We focus on bringing visions to fruition with emphasis on a collective effort that helps shape unique brands.

Nature of General Body meetings:

  • Planning for company and client events (The Dean’s List Tour)

  • Members of organization recommended to be involved with PRSSA or ImPRessions

  • Branding workshops

  • Seminars with professional speakers from the targeted industries

    • Entertainment, lifestyle, fashion, entrepreneurship

Organization members will be organized into groups or accounts that will handle organization clients. Account members will collectively handle press and media relations, strategic brand implementation, and event planning for their client.

-Ashley E. Osborne

Amplified Communication- Founder and President

@Simply_AO

A version of this post initially appeared on November 7th, 2013 on the OU Impressions website. (http://www.ouimpressions.com/)

Leave a Reply

